Customer reviews

Do not buy it

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Jin8440 - 26 days ago

I used this paint on my ceiling yesterday. When it was dry, it peels off and flakes everywhere, I thought probably it was my problem, so today I spent the whole day scraping sanding and painting it again. Here is what I got after one hour. I was so frustrated until I read the review. I need to scrape it again tomorrow. What a waste of time and money!

Brilliant paint

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star

cockerwoman - 2 months ago

Best paint ever . Goes on smooth . Looks bright white.

Read the reviews before buying!!

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Talphy45 - 2 months ago

This paint was recommended by shop staff at my local b&q. At first I was delighted as it went on the walls and ceiling easily and had great coverage and the room looked great however after a short time i noticed it had cracked all over the walls. I was so disappointed as it wasn’t cheap and will need to be painted all over again. Wish I’d read the reviews before purchasing

This paint is disgraceful!

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

JonnieL123 - 4 months ago

This paint is disgraceful! We bought this to decorate our lounge, recommended by shop staff, but shortly after applying, it cracked and flaked off the walls and ceiling. We bought the biggest tub so was very expensive and then had to buy another paint from a different brand to fix it.
We also bought a paint from the mixing station, also Valspar, that’s means to be scrubbable. However, this paint chips at the slightest touch and wipes off with a damp cloth. This will also need to be redone with a different brand. Very, very disappointing and feel robbed of our time and money wasted using this brand of paint.

THE PAINT IS CRACKING

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Ivooo - 4 months ago

this one is very bad to use After application after it starts to dry it cracks already at least 10 cases I have with this paint this way, and I am a professional painter and I know how to work with paint

Bad odour, smelling paint

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Paulb101 - 6 months ago

BEWARE DO NOT BUY, We purchased the first batch which was ok, the second batch however went on the ceilings and walls and within an hour or so started to smell of ammonia/urine eggy smell. DO NOT BUY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Great product

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star

James Basden - 6 months ago

Good consistency and coverage - very happy ........

Shockingly Bad!

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Painting20 - 6 months ago

This is terrible, cracked and flakes everywhere!! Why do B&Q sell these and even worse, why Valspar keep making these if the reviews of this product are so bad?!

Valspar white Matt emulsion

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Empty star

Bob 12 - 8 months ago

I had no issues with this product it was fine don’t know what people are talking about no blistering paints on great !

Paint cracked, agree with other reviews

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Maxrag - 8 months ago

I am in the process of redecorating my house in wall doctor lining paper as the plaster isnt in great condition, after papering my staircase, landing ect, i went and purchased this paint, day after purchase i got to work, paint is thick and went on ok, but i was painting white on white lining paper so not much of a challenge for the paint, next day ive noticed cracking in the paint, upset and disappointed is an understatement as everyone will know how much time and effort goes into stripping paper and repapering,
Took this back to the store and spoke to manager, ideally i wanted a refund for paint and cost of lining but manager said for that he would have to send paint away for testing, i couldnt be bothered with the hassle and thought would they even admit even if there was something wrong, so I opted for the refund of the paint, which i did get fine, but was basically told that it happened because of something id done as people dont read the instructions and do things right...... ive used that lining paper in numerous rooms and painted in all the same way with other brand paints with no issue at all just this paint its happed with. So please bare everyones else’s reviews in mind before buying this paint, only wish i read the reviews first

Terrible paint for cracking

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

McIntoshIndustries - 8 months ago

Worst paint for cracking I have ever used. I have used other Valspar paint before and normally it’s quite good but this paint has cost me hours in time and money to put my walls right. It does have ok but not great coverage. I have 2/3 of a tin left that I definitely will not use again.

Waste of money - avoid Valspar!!

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Valspar is the worst - 9 months ago

The worst paint I have ever used. 4 coats and still patchy. Don’t waste your money or time, any other brand would be better! USELESS. Would’ve rated zero if it was an option...

Do not use

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Anonymous - 9 months ago

Wish I read the reviews before hand! This paint is really bad. Cracks all over and no matter how much priming you do it doesn’t help. Still to the better brands. Not worth the risk

Absolute rubish

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Craigi - 9 months ago

I've been using valspar paint for years with no issues. After applying a coat it's all blistering and peeling off looks like cracked mud.
Just spent all day sanding and filling in the damaged areas.
Shame on you b&q for selling this poor quality paint knowing full well that it's no good.

Rubbish

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Faye 1984 - 9 months ago

I brought this paint 2 days ago , peels and cracks. avoid this product

Don't buy this paint

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Bobdar - 10 months ago

we were recommended Valspar as the best bright white paint by B & Q staff. They failed to tell us it is totally unsuitable, to use on top of normal white emulsion. After doing all our prep we painted our large kitchen family room ceiling only to find when it dried. Our ceiling was covered with random blistering and cracking. A totally nightmare, we had to sand off and in some places fill the damage it did.

Shocking - do not buy

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

RJ2021 - 10 months ago

I wish I had read the reviews on this product before buying and painting this abomination on my ceilings. I had my living room replastered early December. Due to work commitments I was not able to prep and paint until early March. So the walls had 3 months to dry out. I painted a watered down coat of Crown Matt on a Saturday. A second coat of Crown on Sunday, then applied one coat of this on a Monday evening (24 hours between coats). Tuesday morning I discovered the ceiling was in a shocking state with the paint peeling in many places and mud cracked pretty much every where else. This product is not fit for purpose. Instead of applying one more coat, I have now had to re-invest my refund in scrapers, sandpaper and dust sheets and start all over.
It is sickening that both B&Q and Valspars own website have so many bad reviews on this product over the past 2 years, yet still continue to sell this and deny their is a problem. Shame on you B&Q and Valspar.
Please do not buy this product, it is not fit for purpose. I will never buy Valspar again.

Do not use this paint

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Pedro123 - 10 months ago

Bought this to repaint a bedroom ceiling. The paint flaked and cracked very badly. This paint will react with any form of filler on the wall or ceiling and flake off. Had to scrape the entire ceiling and sand the whole area. Then applied Dulux with no issues. Do not use!

Awful paint avoid

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Annoyed in Leeds - 10 months ago

This is awful paint, avoid it like the plague unless you want to spend weeks sanding. My freshly plastered ceiling and walls in my garage conversion (along with 4 year old plaster wall) look awful thanks to constant peeling. I can see no rhyme nor reason why
It flakes and peels randomly. We were wondering what could cause it, I did not suspect the paint as I have used Valpar many times before (v700 blend) and had great results but this particular point is terrible.
Paint is super thick (too thick) but has good coverage on the plus side but I have never in 20 years of decorating had a paint peel and flake like this before. If only I had looked online and read the reviews instead of buying in store. Next time I will just get the v700 in white as that is great paint nothing like this. I included pictures of my ceiling after it started peeling again. I could cry we have spent the last three weekends painting, sanding, repainting, re sanding repainting time and time again. I even brought zinser peel stop as we thought it would help, which it did sometimes and not others, sometimes it just peeled again with the new coat. I was suspecting it was the paint so we wanted to buy new so I looked online to see if we could get the v700 custom mixed blend online and came across the reviews here which confirmed for me others have had the exact same issue as me.

Faulty paint

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Gga - 11 months ago

Do not purchase this paint (cracks and peels) b&a /valspar not very unhelpful in sorting out problem (they are in denial of problem) you have been warned!! (ga painting and decorating)

Peeling and cracking everywhere. Just buy Dulux!!

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Ricky237 - 11 months ago

Unfortunately I purchased this before I read all the reviews. I have never experienced paint peeling and cracking like this Valspar emulsion paint. I had to completely sand this paint away and went straight to Dulux brilliant white emulsion paint which worked perfectly. Believe the reviews and stay away.

Great paint mix staff Cheryl & Natalie

Full star
Full star
Full star
Empty star
Empty star

Michelle H - 11 months ago

I bought this product in a different colour however it was a little darker than I thought to match the wallpaper purchased from B&Q Bridgend, Mid Glam. Cheryl and Natalie were fab, very helpful . They both went out of their way to help me achieve the colour I needed.

Best white paint ive used

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star

Jas1986 - 1 year ago

I bought this paint because we had a colour mixed for us and was impressed. I also liked the fact the paint is scrubbable. I bought it without reading reviews and then later that day i looked and thought what have i done. Since purchasing i have painted my whole kitchen and a few ceilings. What an impressive paint. We painted over a pure brilliant white but this white made it look cream. I have had no cracking, no peeling or anything. Ive painted over plaster, filler and caulk and same result on all 3 surfaces. Follow the instructions on the tin and stir the paint thoroughly with a paint stirrer and drill. Top paint will definately buy again for rest of house.

Do not buy

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Keeks - 1 year ago

I bought the product because it was recommended by the guys at b and q, used it on dry skimmed walls, when the paint dried it left patches like crackes, I made a mistake of not reading the reviews, it is the worse paint I have ever used, avoid!

AVOID Peels and cracks on second coat

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Jh1992 - 1 year ago

Bought this product after having a good experience with the custom colours valspar offer.

I followed the instructions for the matt emulsion, at £34 a tin I would expect a lot better! It was peeling itself off as you rollered it. After the second coat, when wet it looked really good and even as it dried it just lifted and cracked. Compelting 20 square meters I was not pleased and had to sand back the entire roof and apply a product called peel stop. And before you think did I prepare the surface correctly, there was a matt emulsion already on the ceiling, this was dusted, hoovered, dusted again, wiped down with a damp/moist sponge twice! And left to dry for 2 hours it was bone dry. The cracking was all over the ceiling photo attached.

I took the paint back to b and q who gave me a refund on both tins. If I could give something 0 stars I would.

Great customer service

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star

Anonymous - 1 year ago

I bought valspar paint from the paint mixing area at the Stirling store and the man there was a great help, talked me through everything and put me in the directions of the product I needed. Very helpful

Valspar Matt Emulsion

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star

Jonny1note - 1 year ago

Very pleased with the finish and easy to put on the walls. Would definitely recommend and will be using it again.

Terrible paint and a total waste of time and money

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Ed20 - 1 year ago

I am so annoyed I didn't read these reviews before buying and using this paint but I was in the shop and just needed a decent white paint for the ceiling and coving and figured for the price it must be good. Painted the ceiling and coving last night and within a couple of hours after finishing its cracked and peeled like it seems to have done with almost everyone who has used this paint. It needs taking off the shelf immediately

Terrible buy

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

simonpj - 1 year ago

Where this paint has gone on well it is nice and it feels nice to apply. But if you make the mistake of going over paint that’s been on 5 minutes it lifts and you can’t get a smooth finish. Woke up to this. Not happy.

Very disappointing

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Anonymous - 1 year ago

Paint peeling and cracking, I wish I would’ve read the reviews prior to buying.

Cracked and peeling paint

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

SWiilis - 1 year ago

Bought this for ceilings and trims.
Cleaned surfaces appropriately and painted ceiling. It looked OK going on.
Woke in morning to find approx 6 cracked and peeling areas - looks worse now than prior to painting.
I should have read the reviews here first and steered clear.

Top Quality White Paint

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star

Anonymous - 1 year ago

An excellent white paint with easy application and good coverage.

this a worst paint u can buy

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Anonymous - 1 year ago

dont spend your penny on this products. i bought this product just 3 days ago.. i done everything to prepare the wall for painting and as soon as i painted the wall paint get cracked as you can see in the picture

Worst paint we’ve ever bought!!!

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

HUMPHREYS - 1 year ago

Shocking paint.

We’ve used the v700 paint and was recommended this in store to use on walls and ceilings. Has cracked and peeled/
Wish we’d read reviews before purchase.

B and Q have promised to pay someone to come
and fix the issues- whole ceiling needs sanded and repainted... given the price per pot, this is awful!!

DONT BUY THIS PAINT

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

nb10v07 - 1 year ago

this paint ruined two of my cielings - it cracks - AVOID IT

Do not use...especially with lining paper

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Deborah968 - 1 year ago

This paint was recommended by worker at store but I’d wish I’d read reviews before using it. I don’t know how some reviews are saying it’s thin and runny...mine came out of can like glue...after being stirred. Had just finished lining walls and after first coat I knew I was in trouble...all the edges were raising up and the paint was dry and cracked on them all. Glued all edges back down and thinned paint with water hoping that would solve problem...it didn’t....woke up next morning and all the edges I didn’t glue down the night before were raised up.... looked terrible. It’s like the paint just sucked all the moisture out of lining paper and it shrunk and cracked at all the edges. I know it wasn’t my lining and paste job because the one wall I painted blue with the Valspar 700 was perfect...not a raised edge....so it was the perfect white paint that did it. Thought about trying to fix it but figured if it looked that bad on day one I don’t want to know how it will look and how the lining paper will be coming off the wall a month from now. That night I stripped walls bare and am now starting from scratch again. Was refunded my money for the paint but am still out the 3 days prep work on the room and the cost of lining paper and paste of about £20. I also had dry cracked paint splotches in places that other people complained about. My only theory is that paint is too thick and not enough moisture in it and that’s the problem. I hope this review helps one person not going through what I’ve went through with using this paint.

DO NOT BUY THIS PAINT

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Beck28 - 1 year ago

Do not buy this paint , my newly painted walls are ruined , this paint flakes and cracks especially on the second coat ... this needs to come of the shelves

Perfectly good paint.

Full star
Full star
Full star
Empty star
Empty star

CherieD - 1 year ago

I’ve just finished repainting my bedroom and I found this paint OK. It didn’t spray or drip like some ice used. It’s got good coverage and very bright white, I did read the other reviews about it pulling a layer of paint off. It did this in one small area for me and I think it’s because I went over a semi dry but with a drying out roller. I think. It is a bit weird it does that. I’ve used it to paint the woodwork too and seems fine. I still prefer the old B&Q brand as it’s matt but less chalky than most but lockdown seems to have depleted all stock.

Buy cottage cheese and paint with that instead!

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Jimmyd103 - 1 year ago

Awful, within minutes it’s blistered and cracked....

I’ve used V500 & V700 and they paint brill, this stuff is pure evil!

As you can see from my pictures it’s taken precious layers of paint off. Thank goodness for Dulux trade vinyl matt that has hopefully come to the rescue....

Come on B&Q you are clearly selling a well documented and much complained about product that is not fit for purpose, it needs to be withdrawn!

poor paint - don't buy - cracks and peels

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

gbabz - 1 year ago

Second review of this paint. it's really a poor paint and frustrating. I gave the paint a second chance and attempted to paint the bathroom. It's very thick (doesn't drip which is good), but this thickness means it tends to want to go on very thickly. My previous painting attempt (of the hallway) led to 'crazy paving' cracking and also the peeling off of the previous paint. Thus I though applying the paint in a very thin layer might be the key. It certainly performed better when applied thinly but was a lot of work to bully this thick paint into being applied very thinly. Even now I still have some cracking and also some peeling off of the previos white paint. Its not cheap either. I really can't see what they were trying to achieve with this paint but unfortunately, for me as a non professional, I'd suggest staying well away from this expensive and frustrating paint!!

Mixed reviews on this paint

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Empty star

Zoey6 - 1 year ago

Ok the colour is great, Very fresh and perfect white as it says. it is quite thick and took us much longer than usual to paint. It also took 4 coats to cover up very light grey. Not scrubbable for all marks either.

Avoid unless you want to use as a paint stripper.

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Debbiea - 1 year ago

Used this paint on a ceiling, covered well, worked my way across the ceiling, only small hallway. Very impressed at myself, then I turned round to find it was peeling and cracking in places and taking down the existing paint as well. Not sure what to do now, apart from cry. The product was easy to use, especially if you want a paint stripper. The attached photo shows a very small section and I have already rubbed off the loose bits. Unfortunately I have had to give star ratings as very poor but only because there was not one saying atrocious, rip off and total waste of money and time.

Undecided

Full star
Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Kmcg69 - 1 year ago

Used this paint last week to cover a colour, really easy to use but I'm left with a smell from the paint i can't get rid of. Used bowls of bicarbonate of soda and candles, smell remains.

Love this stuff!

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star

Anonymous - 1 year ago

Whitest paint I’ve ever used! I’m not sure why all the negative comments! I love this paint! Easy to use .. comes off my brushes easily .. covers well! Can’t complain I love it!

Brilliant!

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Empty star

FirstTimeDIYerr - 1 year ago

I bought this paint on a whim as I visited my local store and the Dulux white I was after was out of stock. I covered dark purple walls in four coats and found the paint to be even and has little odour! First time project for me so glad this paint was easy to work with. I sanded and used sugar soap to clean walls prior to application

Worked well for me!

Full star
Full star
Full star
Full star
Empty star

newhousebuilder - 1 year ago

I'm a little surprised by all the negative review for this paint. So far I have repainted three rooms using it and I am very pleased with the result. The product was easy to work with (I used a roller), good coverage and dried to an even soft white finish.

This product is poor

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

RICHARD THOMAS - 1 year ago

I bought this product to repaint a ceiling; the surface was firm, clean and dry. The paint appeared to cover well but on drying out it has cracked in a large number of places and dragged the old coat off in one very obvious place. Why on earth B and Q have it on their shelves beggars belief. You are destroying your good image by continuing to sell this expensive paint when it is most definitely not fit for purpose. The reviews are consistent in their adverse comments . Please do something about it and start by reimbursing me with the money I paid for this useless product.

This product is awful

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

PatchyTony - 1 year ago

This is the worst paint I have ever used. Thicker than most other emulsions so expected it to be like normal Matt emulsion but with better coverage. I should have stopped using it when doing the cutting in, I applied with a brush and within minutes any overpainting of previously applied paint resulted in it clumping and peeling off. Applying with a roller got even worse, no wet edge retention even on a small (2.5m x 3M ) room any overpainting of any previously applied paint resulted in paint applied a few minutes before bubbling and peeling off. I am now left with a non uniform ceiling with raised patches of paint all over. I have no idea how to get this back to any type of acceptable finish. DO NOT TOUCH this product. I will be taking my remaining 4 litres back to the B& Q store as soon as the world gets back to normal and suggest that the product is removed from the shelves.

Do not buy! Total waste of time and money

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Toots23 - 1 year ago

I had this paint recommended by a staff member in b and q. I said I was looking for a good paint with good coverage. The paint did cover well at first, but as it dried the paint started to peel and flake! We had painted onto a plaster wall that had previously painted with a matt emulsion. I WISH I HAD READ REVIEWS! The walls now will need sanding down or lining paper putting up to cover all the patches of flaked off paint. Also the customer service in the Blackpool store when I went back to complain was terrible, no one was interested, just said they had never seen that happen before. They obviously haven’t read the reviews either. If I could put no stars I would but 1 star is the lowest.

Don’t Buy

Full star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star
Empty star

Moaby - 1 year ago

Went on the walls OK but in the morning I was left with cracked and peeling paint. Spent hours trying to repair and repaint and am hoping it will now last but not doubtful. Do Not Buy - wish I had read the reviews before buying.